Creative Minds

Quality 2 of the Creative Mind: Imaginitive

Posted on: January 29, 2009

To be imaginitive means to be able to dream up creative and original thoughts. I’m deliberately using the words “dream up” instead of “think” to emphasize the day-dream, right-brain quality of being imaginitive. Thinking is a linear, left-brain activity. When I say “I want to think about X” I often find that I limit my thoughts to rational, practical and often unimaginitive thoughts.

On the other hand, if I say to myself “I want to dream about Y” I throw open the doors to my imagination. I involve my creative, right-brain immediately, giving myself permission to be whimsical and weird. Afterwards, when I take the time to analyze these right-brain ideas, I am usually pleasantly surprised by their freshness and ingenuity.

A tool I often use for dreaming is Tony Buzan’s Mind Maps. You can find more information, tips and lots of examples on mind maps on his website at www.buzanworld.com/Mind_Maps.htm .

Leave a comment

January 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031